I would die for you. But I won’t live for you

Image

The curse of watching a movie based on your favorite book is that you’ll never be objective enough. The movie, which is but an interpretation of the story different from yours, even if it’s the author’s interpretation, will never be good enough.

That being said, this movie is still a good one nonetheless. It still has that vibe of poignant nostalgia and the trembling confusion. The music plays a big part in this, if you don’t count ‘It’s Time’ being featured in the trailer, which is a stupid choice of song that I will never forgive. I also wish that Charlie’s mix tape gets featured more in the movie because I fell utterly and desperately in love with those 14 songs the first time I heard them, but alright, I’ll make do with what I’ve got.

One thing I dislike about the movie is how it makes everything so obvious. There is nothing wrong with a clean plot line, but I miss the crashing waves of emotion when I was reading the book and things got revealed one by one. The impact of the vague words coming from the people who suffered from tragic memories and do not want to speak of them again in fear of having to relive them, that impact cannot be described with words and will never be forgotten. They did what they could within the two hours they got to tell this story and I shouldn’t ask for more, but I just really wish they pay more attention to the emotional impact, is all.

And on that note of the things that could be improved, Emma Watson cannot act to save her life. She is one gorgeous girl and I love her but I will be forever judging the person who made the casting decision of having her play Sam.

On the other hand, one highlight of the movie is definitely Logan Lerman and Ezra Miller’s acting. Ezra Miller in this movie is absolutely lovely. He managed to capture the essence of Patrick, and at the same time put in a few notes of his own interpretation and that made me love his Patrick and at the same time could easily distinguish between his performance and the character I have loved from the book. That is a wonderful thing that personally I have only seen very few actors and actresses pull off successfully, one easy example among them is Rupert Grint’s Ron Weasley, so that you can draw the comparison.

Logan Lerman, on the other hand, I never expected to love his performance as much as I do now. I have heard people praising him on his acting before but he never really persuaded me. With ‘Perks of Being a Wallflower’ I have been completely blown away. He is 100% Charlie, all your arguments are forever invalid. We could just see how he grasped the idea of Charlie and of the whole story that happened in Charlie’s head so easily. His tears, his pain, his desperation, he showed us everything beautifully and I can relate to him in a heartbeat.

All in all, I still like this movie a lot. It broke my heart all over again, mostly because of how deeply I connect with these characters and stories. Charlie’s letters will forever hold a dear place in my heart, in whatever form or format, even though ‘Things change. And friends leave. Life doesn’t stop for anybody.’

2 thoughts on “I would die for you. But I won’t live for you

  1. I agree, Emma Watson was not perfect fit for Sam. But she wasn’t absolutely horrible, if you’ve only seen the movie. I always hate watching movies of books I adore. Although, like you said, the movie was pretty good. Especially Patrick’s character that Ezra played, you can literally feel like it’s Patrick and not some actor playing him.

    I also hate watching movies of book I love because of all the cutting and morphing of the story. It just always feels so incomplete to me. I mean take Charlie’s sister for example, she almost had no importance in the movie. And what about Charlie’s smoking? And her pregnancy?

    Oh, well. I guess it’s still OK.

    • I agree with you about those cut out parts. I mean I know they’re inevitable, but because we have read the book and loved it so much, all the little details count. I’m dreading the day I go to the cinema watching ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ because I know I’ll never be satisfied. But meh, such is the way of life, no?

Leave a Reply

